Gender Respect Project 2013-2016

Aiming to help children and young people to understand, question and challenge gender inequality and violence.

Gender Respect Pupil Conference 2 – 17th June 2016

Leave a comment

The pupils were all very excited to meet back together for a second pupil conference to share what they had been doing in school. There were two primary and two secondary schools represented. As a warm up and ice breaker that would introduce ideas around consent that were suitable for the primary school pupils, Chella chose a simplifed version of the handshake activity by Justin Hancock of Bish Training, which can be found in the Consent Issue of The Sex Educational Sex Education Forum’s e-magazine. The use of a handshake as a metaphor for the basics around negotiating good consent was helpful for pupils and staff, and some fun and complicated handshake/fistbump/wave routines were created and shared, all in the space of a few minutes! The activity was followed by a discussion about which greeting felt more comfortable and how we can give our consent as to whether or not we wish to shake hands with someone. Chella linked this to stroking pets and how we can tell when a cat doesn’t want to be stroked.

IMG_2652

The pupils then shared some of the activities they had been doing in school. We were very impressed with the creativity of the pupils and we enjoyed listening to the songs they had created and a video of a boys’ dance competition.

These were the pupils who organised a boys’ dance competition and made up a rap.

IMG_2661

They did an assembly and inspired other pupils to get involved. This is a poster that someone made. When the school were asked if they would like to have an annual boys’ dance competition and how many would enter, they were overwhelmed by the positive response.

20160621_124414-2

We had a great song all about respecting one another. Below is the song and the lyrics:

You respect me,

I respect you,

Respecting each other is so cool when your with your best friends even people you don’t know.

This is what we all expect you’ve got to learn to show respect or you might end up sad and all alone.

So lets come together, stand together, play and work and rest together.

Nice with each other now and forever yeah, ohhh yeah.

Cause we can be who we were born to be, living and working in harmony.

Respecting each other, protecting each other.

We come together, stand together.

Boys and girls forever together as friends.

Gender Respect!!!!

 

These pupils are part of a debating club. They created and performed a song about gender respect.

IMG_2665

These are the words of their song:

Sometimes I wonder,

If there was no gender,

What would the world be like.
No sexism,
No bullying,
Free to do whatever I want.
All I wish there was, was equality because
I’m not a girl,
I’m not a boy,
I’m just a person in the world.
I’m not strong like a man,
I don’t throw like a girl,
I can cry! I can shout! I can scream!
I just want to be free to be me.
I’m not a girl,
I’m not a boy,
I’m just a person in the world.
Sick of all these labels.
I’m not a girl,
I’m not a boy,
I’m just a person in the world.

Leave a Reply

