Gender Respect Project 2013-2016

Aiming to help children and young people to understand, question and challenge gender inequality and violence.

Teacher blog, Stephen: Baking

Leave a comment

The activity was baking buns. The mixture was ready and the children were ready to choose a coloured bun case. When it came to my turn I chose pink.

Two of the girls giggled, then commented,

‘You can’t choose pink its a girls colour.’ Other children around the table agreed.

I asked, ‘Why?’

‘It just is. We have pink and boys have blue.’

I then said, ‘I like pink and it’s a colour I have chosen.’

Then one of the boys spoke up saying that he liked pink too.

I feel that my choice gave him the courage to share his preference. The conversation confirmed to the children that everyone can have a favourite colour and they should be free to make their own choice.

 

Leave a comment